SAM - Society for Anaerobic Microbiology
You are here: HOME > Council Members  

    Microbiologist   Council Officers

SAM- Home
 Chairperson Prof Sheila Patrick
Chair of Molecular Medical Bacteriology
Centre for Infection and Immunity
School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
Queen's University Belfast
Medical Biology Centre, 97 Lisburn Road
Belfast BT9 7BL
Email:
S.Patrick@qub.ac.uk
Interests: Bacteroides fragilis, Propionibacterium acnes;genomics,
virulence, phylogeny and diagnosis.
Meetings
Courses
Reports and Articles
Council Members
News
Links

Vice Chairperson Dr Mark Wilks
Microbiology
Barts and the London NHS Trust
Microbiology, Pathology and Pharmacy Block,
3rd Floor
80 Newark Street
London E1 2ES
United Kingdom
Email:
m.wilks@qmul.ac.uk
Interests: C difficile, B fragilis, normal flora and probiotics.
 

Honorary
Secretary
Dr Kenneth Bruce
King's College London,
Pharmaceutical Science Division,
Franklin-Wilkins Building,
150 Stamford Street,
London SE1 9NH
United Kingdom
Email:
kenneth.bruce@kcl.ac.uk
Interests: Respiratory Tract Infections.
 

Honorary
Treasurers
Dr Mark Wilks
Microbiology
Barts and the London NHS Trust
Microbiology, Pathology and Pharmacy Block,
3rd Floor
80 Newark Street
London E1 2ES
United Kingdom
Email:
m.wilks@qmul.ac.uk

Council Members

Prof Ian Poxton
Medical Microbiology
Centre for Infectious Diseases
University of Edinburgh College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine
49 Little France Crescent
Edinburgh EH16 4SB
United Kingdom

Email: ipoxton@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Interests: Anaerobes, clostridia and C. difficile.

Prof Haroun Shah
Head, Molecular Identification Services Unit
Health Protection Agency
Centre for Infections
61 Colindale Avenue
London NW9 5HT
United Kingdom
Email:
Haroun.shah@hpa.org.uk

Dr Val Hall PhD FIBMS
Head Biomedical Scientist
Anaerobe Reference Laboratory
NPHS Microbiology Cardiff
University Hospital of Wales
Heath Park
Cardiff CF14 4XW
United Kingdom
E-mail: val.hall@nphs.wales.nhs.uk
Interests: Actinomyces and related genera, taxonomy and identification of anaerobes, C. difficile

Mrs Julie Elston
Applications Manager, Clinical Markets
Oxoid
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Wade Road
Basingstoke
Hampshire RG24 8PW
United Kingdom
Email: julie.elston@thermofisher.com
Website: www.oxoid.com
Interests: Clostridium difficile - changing epidemiology, rising number of cases, laboratory testing.

Dr Garry Blakely
Institute of Cell Biology
School of Biological Sciences
University of Edinburgh
Darwin Building, KB
Edinburgh  EH9 3JR
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)131 650 5359
E-mail:
Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
Interests: Gene regulation by site-specific recombination; Mechanisms of homologous recombination in anaerobes;
Restriction alleviation of Type I R-M systems; Commensal-host
interactions in the human GI tract.

Prof Neil Fairweather
Dept. of Life Sciences
Centre for Molecular Microbiology and Infection
Imperial College London
London SW7 2AZ

E-mail: n.fairweather@imperial.ac.uk
Interests: Molecular aspects of clostrial pathogenesis.
C. difficile
, cell wall structures
.

Dr Mike Hudson
Contact details to follow.